Our Anchors

Had a tornado struck! Every desk drawer laid upside down, its contents strewn about on the floor. I felt rice crunch under my feet.

My anchors, Regee and Gina, had just brought me home from our Wednesday night prayer meeting. Since my car had a ruined tire and required many other repairs, Regee and Gina toted me all over in their red Ford crew cab.

After I discovered the work of vandals, I ambled down the hallway in a daze and heard water running. It came from the overflowing bathtub. A sickening odor wafted up to my nostrils. Later, I espied a shampoo bottle and other stuff floating on top.

I took a couple of steps toward the bedroom and stopped. I did not want to risk breaking something as I stared into the room in shock. Surely a tornado had struck!

Feeling somewhat dizzy from shock, somehow I made my way back to the front. With my insides reeling, I peered out the front door. “Regee, Gina” I exclaimed, “Come into the house with me.” They had brought me home and waited for me in their red Ford pickup.

They walked into my mobile home with me. The sound of running water reached my ears. After this I saw that the water almost poured over the kitchen sink onto the floor. At once I shut the faucet off. Oh no! I thought as I saw papers floating in the kitchen sink. Someone had propped the refrigerator door open with a chair. I removed the chair.

In my office books and several pieces of linens lay on the floor. However, the vandals left my computer untouched. I believe God protected it.

Next I waded into the bathroom and shut off the tub water. In the meantime Regee and Gina viewed the scene in the bedroom.

“Call the sheriff,” Gina suggested. I called him.

A carton of powdered milk sat in the living room with its contents on the rug. A hymnbook lay open. I started to close the hymnbook. However, I knew I needed to control myself and wait for the sheriff. I waited.

He came and viewed the garage heap, filed his report, and left. However, the law served not as an anchor. They did nothing about these vandals.

Regee said, “Things were in such disarray it looked like a tornado had hit the room. Drawers from a dresser and chest had been turned upside down with contents of various kinds of clothing and other articles strewn all over the room.”

When I mopped up the water standing in the bathroom, I ended up with a dripping skirt.

I said to my kind friends, “I can’t stay here tonight.”

“Do you want to stay at our house?”

“Please take me to Mom’s house.” I called Mom and told her what happened. I threw clothes on the bed to make a pathway, rummaged around for a dry skirt, and changed.

Then I grabbed clothes for an overnight stay at Mom’s. I threw a few cosmetics in my bag. “Don’t you think you need a jacket?” Gina gently reminded me. I grabbed one, anxious to get away from this horrid pigsty.

The next morning Gina and Regee showed up at Mom’s house. We went over to my mobile home and labored until 4:00 in the afternoon. They supported me as with an anchor, getting my place back in order.

Regee even cleaned out the heating ducts that were filled with muck and debris. He said that the water run the entire length of the heating ducts.

Someone consoled me the night following the “tornado” with an anchor greater than Regee or Gina could provide. The Anchor of my soul gave sweet rest all night. I awoke with peace and joy in my heart and a smile on my face. As He revived the body of Jairus’ daughter, He revived my soul.

As my friends, Regee and Gina, showed kindness to me, God wants us to follow their example. He says to me, “And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” (Eph. 4:32, KJV).

These kind actions of my friends make me consider my own self. Do I love God as much? How have I encouraged someone else lately? When I serve God as an anchor, it makes me feel better about myself, instead of indulging in self-pity. If I help someone else, it takes my mind off my own troubles. Do I anchor up others or weigh them down?

Names have been changed by request.

Bio: Lynn lives on her parents’ farm in Montrose, Colorado. She loves watching the deer at play. Robins, and mourning doves search for food. Hawks and even bald eagles fly overhead. A blue heron stood on the bank of Spring Creek. Besides watching wildlife, Lynn enjoys jeeping in the San Juan Mountains with her cousin. She reads books, and plays the piano for Canyon View Baptist Church. For several years Lynn and her late husband Leon Wallace served as missionaries to the Navajo. After her beloved departed for Heaven, the Lord called Lynn to write for Him. Editors accepted many articles and two Sunday School curriculum packages. Our Lifeship: Studies in Proverbs for Women, her first book, sailed to her port in 2008.

One thought on “Our Anchors

  1. Kindness is a wonderful fruit of the Spirit!

    I love how you took a story of hatred and turned it into a story of kindness!
    Sad–but there is too much hatred and crime in the world. But, praise God there is also kindness and love.
    “Do I anchor up others or weigh them down?” Great food for thought!

Leave a Reply

