3. Our Eternal Hope

3. My Hope in God’s Mercy

Psalm 33:18, 22

Behold, the eye of the Lord is upon them that fear him, upon them that hope in his mercy. Let thy mercy, O Lord, be upon us, according as we hope in thee.

His eye is on the sparrow, and His eye is on me. God even cares about a little sparrow who falls. He knows how many hairs are upon my head. When I fear Him and hope in His mercy, His eye is upon me.

God’s gives us mercy when we do not deserve it. A prisoner is guilty, but he pleads for mercy. If the judge gives him a lighter sentence or forgives him, that is mercy. God’s mercy reaches farther than this.

In Titus 3:5 God says, “Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost.” Oh, how great His mercy that saved me from the depths of Hell, washed me from all my sins, and gave me the hope of a home in Heaven!

At an early age, I started attending Sunday School and church. regularly. As a little girl, deep questions came into my mind. “Who is Jesus?” “Is He God or is He man?” The Bible stories described Him as a man. However, they tacked on “in Jesus’ name” at the end of their prayers. These questions went unanswered for many years.

When in the seventh or eighth grade in school, someone asked me, “Will you go to Bible School with me?” I went, and heard for the first time how to attain peace with God. Yes, I thought, the gospel must be true. It comes from the Bible. Several years passed before I received peace with God.

The gospel is the good news that Jesus Christ came and died for our sins, and rose again that we might have life. After I believed these truths, I called myself a Christian. This is “head belief.” To become His child, requires faith, we trust in Him from our hearts.

Faith is a gift. God says, “By grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast” (Eph. 2:8-9). Grace is the undeserved favor of God. He gives His children blessings. We do not deserve the least of them. What a wonderful God we serve!

During my third year of school at Whittier College in California, many troubles beset me. I hoped to become a foreign language interpreter. I majored in French, but Whittier did not offer enough courses for a French major. Therefore I enrolled in Spanish literature—Cervantes fifteenth Spanish. I could not understand spoken Spanish. My health started to break. My boy friend’s letters got serious, “Will you marry me?”

With all these problems, I cried out to the Lord. He spoke to my heart, “Repent, repent. Lynn, you are a sinner. Christ died for your sins. Christ arose that you might live. Repent. I knelt by my bed, and Jesus Christ came into my heart and life. Now peace like a river flooded my heart.

Later, God called me to the Navajo. While serving the Navajo Indian, I met my future husband, Leon. God gave us a daughter. After sixteen years of wonderful married life, God took my beloved home.

What will I do now, Lord, I thought. This will take months and months before I know. The next week in church the pastor preached on writing. He described my shanty though he had never seen it. I knew the Lord was speaking to me.

Since that time I’ve been writing. Numerous articles and two curriculum packages found publication. Ambassador International published my first book, Our Lifeship: A Study in Proverbs for Women. God is so good to me!

Lynn’s website tells more about herself and her book. The URL is www.writingfrommyheart.com.

Leave a Reply

