6. Our Eternal Hope

6. Hope from the Beginning

Psalm 71

Thou art my hope, O Lord God: thou art my trust from my youth…Thou art he that took me out of my mother’s bowels…I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more (Psa. 71:5-6, 14).

The psalmist hoped in His God. He made the bones and muscles in his body grow. This believer praised God and his hope grew.

Great and sore troubles perplexed him, but he believed in God’s power. He had hope that God would help him through them.

In His troubles he cried, “O God, be not far from me: O my God make haste for my help.” This man trusted in his God to deliver him.

When many wondered at him, he resorted to his Creator, his strong habitation, his rock, his fortress, and his refuge. His Lord had the power to deliver him from his strong enemy. He placed his hope in the Lord, his strength.

The psalmist had trusted God for his salvation. He knew Him as his personal Saviour from sin and hell. Jesus Christ redeemed him—on Calvary’s cross He paid the ultimate price for his sins. His Saviour, He hoped, will surely deliver me from those who rise up again me.

In the mid 1940’s I heard Christ died for sinners for the first time. About eight years later, the Lord spoke to me personally. “Repent, repent. Lynn, you are a sinner. Christ died for your sins. He rose again that you might have life. Repent.” I knelt by my bed and Jesus came into my heart. My hope is in Him. As the psalmist, many troubles entered my life. Jesus gives me hope and goes with me through them. When vandals trashed out my abode, I slept like a baby. That morning I awoke with a smile on my face. God gave me peace and joy!

Anyone can have an eternal hope, too. God spoke through Peter, one of the twelve apostles. He said, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time” (1 Pet. 1:3-5). Do you have this hope?

Lynn and Leon, her beloved husband, served as missionaries to the Navajo Indian for several years. After God took her honey to Heaven, He called her to write for Him. Many of her articles found publication, and two Sunday School curriculum packages. Ambassador International published her first book, Our Lifeship: A Study in Proverbs for Women. More information is available at www.writingfrommyheart.com.

Leave a Reply

