8. Hope in His Word

Psalm 119

“Remember the word unto thy servant, upon which thou hast caused me to hope…My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word…Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word…Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope” (Psa. 119:49, 81, 114, 116).

This entire psalm speaks about the Word of God.  In Psalm 12:6-7 God has promised to preserve His Word forever. He preserved in English in the King James Bible. He orders our steps in His Word. The psalmist hoped on God’s Word before daylight and meditated on it in the night. God’s Word is true from the beginning to the end (from Genesis to Revelation).

Before Jesus entered my heart and my life, I picked up the Bible at times, but I did not understand. One friend said, “The book of Revelation tells us about the future.” I read this book through, but I knew as much as when I finished as before I started reading it.

Another time I started reading in the gospel of John. I came to the fourteenth chapter. Who is the Comforter? as I did not understand, I stopped reading. First Corinthians 2:14 says, “The natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness to him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.” The natural man refers to a person without Christ. That is why many say they cannot understand the KJV.

In the King James I read, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God” (John 1:1). In another version this verse reads, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was a god.” It changes the whole meaning of the verse.

My hope is in the Word which cleanses me from sin. “Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word” (Psa. 119:9). The psalmist memorized the Word of God. He meditated and delighted in God’s Word.1

Heavy hearts threaten to overwhelm us. God strengthens us with His Word.2 He gives us hope.

When we keep and obey God’s words, it increases our hope in God. Sometimes, afflictions come into our lives. God uses these to teach us to do right.4

One time vandals trashed my trailer home. I could not walk into my bedroom with all the clutter. Water overflowed the bathtub, and almost the kitchen sink. Rice crackled underfoot in the living room. God used my friends to help me. I spent the night at Mom’s house. In bed I slept like a baby and smiled in the morning. God had given me His peace and joy and thereby encouraged me to live for Him.

In Psalm 119:89 God says, “For ever, O Lord, thy word is settled in heaven.” He preserved His holy Word for us. His Word gives me hope.

God gave the Valley of Achor (trouble) for a Door of Hope (Hos. 2:15). In this place Achan was stoned because he stole what belonged to God (Josh. 7:1, 25-26). Let us look up to God and He will bless us in our Valley of Trouble as He has promised to bless Israel.

1. Psalm 119: 11, 15-16; 2. Psalm 119:28; 3. Psalm 119:67.

Leave a Reply

