12. Hope and Trust in God

Numbers 13-14; Joshua 14

The hope of the righteous shall be gladness: but the expectation of the wicked shall perish…Turn you to the strong hold, ye prisoners of hope (Prov. 10:28; Zech. 9:12).

In the book of Proverbs “the righteous” are the just, those declared righteous by God. When God looks down from Heaven, He buried their sins in the deepest sea (Mic. 7:19).

Moses, by God’s command, sent out twelve spies to spy out the land of Canaan. At this time Caleb was forty, and one of the spies. Because Caleb trusted God, he followed Him wholly.

“Taste this honey, Joshua.”

“Ummmm, good.”

“Can you help me carry back these grapes, Joshua.”

“Sure, Caleb.”

“Here, I’ve got this pole cut down. Did you ever see such big grapes, Joshua?”

“No, and they’re so delicious.”

“Let’s gather some pomegranates and figs in our baskets.”

“I never tasted such good fruit.”

***

“The land of Canaan flows with mild and honey,” ten of the spies reported. “But,” they said, “Giants live there in great walled cities. We saw them and felt like grasshoppers. We cannot overcome them.”

“Oh yes we can,” Caleb said. “Let’s go up right away and conquer the land. The Lord will give it to us.”

The people said, “Let’s stone Caleb and Joshua. They speak foolishly.”

“These ten men shall not see the land,” a voice thundered. “They will die by a plague. The people will wander in the wilderness forty years.”

However, Caleb and Joshua lived. They had a different attitude. God said because Caleb followed Him wholly, He would bring him into the land of Canaan.”

Forty-five years later Caleb reminded Joshua of God’s promise. He said, “Give me this mountain. I can drive out the giants.”

“You, Caleb, have wholly followed the Lord.  You can have this mountain. The Lord has given it to you.” At eighty-five he drove out the giants and the land had rest from war.

The spies had their eyes on the circumstances and their own ability. They died in the wilderness.

Caleb and Joshua had their eyes on the LORD and His might, and God gave the victory. None of us are sufficient in ourselves, but only in God.

Giants stalk all our paths. A few years ago I came home to a giant. Vandals had trashed out my house. I saw it and felt utterly helpless.

That night I slept at Mom’s house. God gave me sweet sleep. The next day I awoke with a smile and deep peace in my heart.

My friends, knowing of my plight, helped me conquer this giant. It took us a full day to clean up.

If I had trusted in my own resources, this giant would have defeated me. By God’s strength we overcame it.

Other giants have threatened my life and my property. When I trust in myself, I fail. If I look up to Jesus, He gives me victory.

We all face giants in our lives. Your giants may wear a different face than mine. As we trust in God and then step out in faith, we can conquer the giants in our lives.

Your giants may wear a different face than mine, but we can conquer as Caleb did when we place our faith and hope in Christ. “Faith, humility, and peace keep us afloat as we sail on troubled seas” (Taken from Our Lifeship by Lynn Wallace, page 19).

Bio:

Ambassador-Emerald International published Lynn’s book, Our Lifeship: Studies in Proverbs for Women. (See www.writingfrommyheart.com) Periodicals published about eighty of her articles and fillers. Accent Publications published two of her curriculum packages. Leon, her late husband, and she served on the Navajo field several years.She plays the piano for Canyon View Baptist Church in Montrose, Colorado.

Leave a Reply

