2. Calm Hearts

lynn2. Keep a Calm Heart

The heart is the lifeline of our lifeship. It resembles the ship’s motor. If the motor dies, the ship dies. “Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life” (Prov. 4:23). When you fail to keep your heart right, your ship will capsize.

The Captain, Jesus Christ, spoke about the heart of your ship. “But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart” (1 Sam. 16:7). We look on the beauty of a ship. But will it hold the water back? Can you cross the Red Seas and Jordans in your life?

If you, as a Christian sailor, heed your Captain’s warnings, you will dwell safely and be quiet from the fear of evil. Jesus will give you peace and calm even in the midst of dire circumstances.

Philippians 4:6-7 says, “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus”. “Be careful for nothing” means “Do not worry about anything.” God says pray and supplicate or beg Him for it. You can do this on the basis of His promises in His holy Word, the Bible. When you meet these conditions, He will give you the peace of God which surpasses our finite understanding.

Earlier in my life, I fell into a depressed state four times. When trials come my way, I feel troubled at that time. God has helped me so that I can deal with it and not stay in that state of mind.

Once, vandals trashed my place. That night I stayed in Mom’s condo and slept like a baby. I woke up with a smile on my face. Nothing I could do about my circumstances gave me this calmness and joy. Only my God can do that.

God has promised you and me peace. He said, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee” (Isa. 26:3). Do you trust in Him when everything seems against you? God knows all about it, and wants to give you His peace.

All Scriptures are taken from the King James Version. This article is based on Lynn’s book: Our Lifeship: A Study in Proverbs for Women. May we stay calm on life’s troubled seas. Get help on staying calm at http://www.writingfrommyheart.com

Leave a Reply

