4. Keeping Calm in Storms

lynnCalm in a Mess
By Lynn Wallace

Calm in a Mess
By Lynn Wallace

Had a tornado struck! Every desk drawer lay upside down, its contents strewn about on the floor. I felt crunchy stuff under my feet.

I couldn’t take another step into my bedroom. Something might break.

Since my car required many repairs, Regee and Gina furnished my transportation.

The bathtub overflowed and a sickening odor wafted up to my nostrils.

When I rushed down the hallway and peered out the front door, I sighed with relief. “Regee, Gina” I exclaimed, “Come into the house with me.”

They did.

Some office books and linens lay on the floor. However, the vandals left my computer untouched. God protected it.

When I mopped up the bathroom floor, I ended up with a dripping skirt. In the meantime my friends viewed the scene in the bedroom.

Regee said, “Things were in such disarray it looked like a tornado had hit the room.”

I said to my friends, “Please take me to Mom’s house.” I can’t stay here tonight.”

I called Mom and told her what happened. I ventured back into the bedroom to grab what I needed for an overnight stay at Mom’s. I threw things on the bed to make a path to the closet. How can I find anything to wear in this mess? I wondered.

Then I rummaged around for a dry skirt and changed. I grabbed clothes for an overnight stay at Mom’s.

The next morning Regee and Gina showed up at Mom’s house. We went over to my mobile home and labored until 4:00 in the afternoon. They supported me as with an anchor, getting my place back in order.

We scrubbed floors, the bathtub, and kitchen sink. Regee even cleaned out the heating ducts that were filled with muck and debris. He said, “Water run the entire length of the heating ducts.”

Someone consoled me the night following the “tornado” with an anchor greater than Regee or Gina could provide. The Anchor of my soul gave sweet rest all night. I awoke with peace and joy in my heart, and a smile on my face.

Good friends can help you stay calm when trials come. They will stick with you. Many young people and adults do not choose their friends wisely. Such lead them in the wrong direction. God says, “He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed” (Prov. 13:20). Stay calm. Choose your friends wisely.
Names have been changed by request.

Bio: Lynn lives in Montrose, Colorado on her parents’ farm. She enjoys watching deer at play, and birds gathering seeds and bugs. God called Lynn to write for Him shortly after her husband departed for his heavenly home. Over eighty of her articles appeared in various publications. Nature Friend published “A Strange Animal,” an article about the platypus. Win Informer, Shining Star, and other periodicals also have published her articles. Accent Bible Curriculum published two of her curriculum packages. Ambassador International published her first book: Our Lifeship: Studies in Proverbs for Women. In it chapter 6 speaks about companions or friends. Her website received a new look, http://www.writingfrommyheart.com.

Leave a Reply

